The GMAC Main Committee

The Genetic Modification Advisory Committee (GMAC) was established under the purview of the Ministry of Trade and Industry in April 1999 to oversee and advise on the research and development, production, use and handling of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) in Singapore.

The Committee is currently chaired by Prof Paul Teng from the National Institute of Education (NIE) and consists of members drawn from 12 agencies. Each member of GMAC contributes a different area of expertise to the committee, thereby enabling GMAC to make decisions based on holistic views of issues related to genetic modification.

GMAC Chairman

Prof Paul Teng

National Institute of Education

Deputy Chairman

Chairman, Subcommittee on Research on GMOs

Prof Prakash Kumar
Department of Biological Sciences
National University of Singapore
GMAC Committee Members

Chairman, Subcommittee on Public Awareness

Dr Paul Chiew

Group Director
Laboratories Group
Agri-food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore

Chairman, Subcommittee on Labelling

Dr Chua Sin Bin

Principal Consultant
Agri-food Technologies Pte Ltd

Chairman, Subcommittee on
Agriculture-related GMOs

Assoc Prof Peter Dröge 

Division of Molecular Biology & Genetics School of Biological Sciences Nanyang Technological University


Dr Kenneth Lee

Biomedical Research Council
Agency for Science. Technology and Researchd


Dr Lucy Leong Yi Ming
Senior Specialist
(Occupational Medicine)
OSH Specialist
Department Ministry of Manpower


Ms Audrey Lim

Deputy Chief Legislative Counsel
Legislation and Law Reform Division
Attorney-General's Chambers


A/Prof Davis Ng

Senior Principal Investigator
Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory


Dr Se Thoe Su Yun
Principal Biosafety Specialist
Regulatory Policy Branch
Ministry of Health


Mr Seah Seng Choon
Executive Director
Consumers Association of Singapore


Assoc Prof Uttam Surana
Principal Investigator
Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology


Ms Wendy Yap

Deputy Director (Int'l Relations)
Biodiversity Centre Division
National Parks Board